14 Followers
35 Following
elenalikesbooks

Elena Likes Books

I am an avid reader of YA, fantasy, and romance, a librarian, and a writer of fantasy short fiction.

Currently reading

Cut & Run
Abigail Roux, Madeleine Urban
Where the Sidewalk Ends
Shel Silverstein
The Mad Scientist's Guide to World Domination: Original Short Fiction for the Modern Evil Genius
John Joseph Adams
The Thousand Names
Django Wexler
The Duchess Hunt
Jennifer Haymore

Full Blooded

Full Blooded - 3.5 starsI think it is a little hilarious that there is a blurb on the back of this book that reads, "In the vein of Kelley Armstrong and Patricia Briggs comes a new urban fantasy that rewrites the werewolf myth." In the vein of Armstrong and Briggs? Definitely. In that it is pretty clearly derivative of those authors' work without doing anything different with the werewolf myth whatsoever.This was mindlessly fun urban fantasy. I enjoyed it, and will probably pick up the next book simply because I'm a fan of mindlessly fun urban fantasy, and werewolves are probably my favorite urban fantasy subgenre (sub-subgenre?). And Armstrong has concluded her Women of the Otherworld series, and Briggs can only write so fast. But there's nothing new here. If you need something to tide you over while you're waiting on Patricia Briggs' next book, this is a decent substitute: fast-paced, uncomplicated urban fantasy.